Children's Book Award 2016


We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Children’s Book Award 2016. Among those listed are bestselling children’s author, Francesca Simon, last year's shortlisted Pamela Butchart and debut author, Kim Slater.

Who will win? Children nationwide are now invited to vote for their favourite of the ten shortlisted books. The category winners and the author of the best children’s book published in the 2015 nomination period will be announced at a glittering award's ceremony which takes place in Central London on Saturday 28th May 2016.

The Children’s Book Award is the only national award for children’s books that is voted for entirely by children. It is owned and co-ordinated by the Federation of Children’s Book Groups and is highly respected by teachers, parents and librarians. It has brought acclaim to past winners such as J.K. Rowling, Patrick Ness, Andy Stanton, Malorie Blackman, Anthony Horowitz and Michael Morpurgo, who has won a record three times. The award has often been the first to recognise the future stars of children’s fiction and has the ability to turn popular authors into bestsellers.


The full shortlist for the Children’s Book Award 2016 is as follows:

Younger Children

– Fabulous Pie by Gareth Edwards and Guy Parker-Rees (Scholastic)
– Is There a Dog in this Book? by Viviane Schwarz (Walker Books)
– Ready, Steady, Jump! by Jeanne Willis and Adrian Reynolds (Andersen Press)
– This Book Just Ate my Dog! by Richard Byrne (Oxford University Press)

Younger Readers
– My Headteacher is a Vampire Rat! by Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham (Nosy Crow)
– Boy in the Tower by Polly Ho-Yen (Doubleday)
– Horrid Henry’s Krazy Ketchup by Francesca Simon and Tony Ross (Orion Children’s Books)


Older Readers
– Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
– Smart by Kim Slater (Macmillan Children’s Books)
– Listen to the Moon by Michael Morpurgo (HarperCollins Children’s Books)