Madeline L'Engle: November 29th, 1918- September 6th, 2007

Written between 1959 and 1960, A Wrinkle In Time was rejected by at least 26 publishers because it was 'too different'; however, it has been continuously in print since its first publication in 1963. 

L'Engle wrote four other books featuring this generation of the Murry family, collectively known as the Time Quintet. They are:

A Wind in the Door (1973) 

A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978) 

Many Waters (1986) 

An Acceptable Time (1989) 

Considered a modern classic, A Wrinkle In Time is a sci-fi adventure story. Charles Wallace Murry goes through a 'wrinkle in time' searching for his lost father and finds himself on an evil planet where all life is enslaved by a huge brain known as 'It'. Charles, his sister Meg and his friend Calvin work together to find and free his father, making this an exciting mix of fantasy and sci-fi. A mysterious trio of guardian angels- known as Mrs Whatsit, Mrs Who and Mrs Which- guide the action. 

This a book with great potential for working with in class or for enjoying as a class novel.