Cath Howe

Not My Fault


I am Rose Elizabeth Sheridan and I am the one to blame.

Born just eleven months apart, sisters Maya and Rose used to be close. But that was before the accident- one sister urging the other to spin the roundabout faster; Maya’s leg getting trapped and everything changing. Maya blames Rose and resents her for being perfect in every way. In her anger and frustration, she constantly plays tricks on her sister, which Rose feels too guilty to tell anyone about. A school trip brings tensions to a head.

Cath Howe has produced another winner with ‘Not My Fault’. Each chapter (written in a different font) shares the viewpoint of one of the sisters and Cath has caught their individual personalities perfectly. The strain of the accident on their relationship- the guilt born by one, the fury by the other- and on the family as a whole is skilfully portrayed.

The story builds to a dramatic, satisfying climax, offering plenty of twists along the way. Cath is particularly good at capturing friendships - the positive and negative sides- and these are explored beautifully throughout the story. I can’t recommend Cath’s writing enough!

‘Not My Fault’ is a fantastic read from the author of our 2018 Moving On Category winner.

Not My Fault Cath Howe

Nosy Crow ISBN: 978-1788002868

You can read our review of ‘Ella on the Outside’ here.

NSTBA Past Winners- Moving On Category


Today, we’re looking back at the winners of our Moving On Category. After our first awards in 2015, we felt there was a need for a section specifically for children at the top end of Primary school, who want a more challenging read. It’s a real joy to find the right book which will help children to continue with their reading.

download (14).jpg

Nicky Singer was our first winner in this category with her very special book, ‘Island’, illustrated by Chris Riddell. We were delighted that Nicky could join us for the ceremony; she was fascinating to talk to and a pleasure to meet. You can read our review here.

download (39).jpg

In 2017, Ally Sherrick’s novel ‘Black Powder’ was our winner. Set at the time of the Gunpowder Plot, this is an exciting historical novel with much to recommend it. Ally came to the awards ceremony and was a pleasure to meet. You can read our review here.


Last year’s winner was ‘Ella on the Outside’, a wonderful story about friendship, loyalty and wanting to belong. Cath joined us for the awards and it was lovely to meet her. You can read our review here.

Brilliant books one and all! Each of these books has been widely used in our schools and each has ideas for a book event and /or teaching notes to go with them which are available to our members. Our search for this years treasures is going well so it’s looking good for this year’s list!

This year’s long list will be announced on Saturday 13th July 2019 and the short list on Saturday 7th September 2019.

2018 Moving On Shortlist

So here it is...

the NSTBA 2018 Moving On shortlist.


Running on Empty      S E Durrant

Nosy Crow      ISBN: 978-0857637406

You can read the long list review here.


Charlie and Me   Mark Lowery

Piccadilly   ISBN:  978-1848126220

You can read the long list review here.


The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole  Michelle Cuevas

Simon and Schuster      ISBN: 978-1471170188

You can read the long list review here.


Ella on the Outside     Cath Howe

Nosy Crow   ISBN: 978-1788000338

You can read the long list review here.

Congratulations to all! The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on the 10th November.