This year, we will continue with our six categories. These are:

Picture book

Quality Fiction

(texts which can be used to create teaching sequences which do not kill the joy of the book!)



Read Aloud 

Moving on...

(books to move Year 6 children on to the next stage.)

Books can be submitted for any or all of our categories. Submissions for 2018 must be in by Sunday 15th April 2018 and the books need to have been published from 2016-2018. We are happy to look at proof copies of books, but the book needs to be published by Saturday 8th September which is when the shortlist will be announced. The long list will be announced on Sunday 29th April. We will publish reviews of as many submitted books as possible.

The awards ceremony will be held in November and all shortlisted authors/ illustrators will be invited.  We are all currently working in education- most of us are full time class teachers from Rec- Y6- and all of us are passionate about spreading the love of a good book to our children, their parents, our colleagues- everyone really.

We are interested in:

  • books that offer quality/ something a bit different
  • books published between 2016 and 2018
  • graphic novels and wordless books as well as those abounding in words!
  • books from any cultural background/tradition etc
  • books in translation

Please contact us if you have any suggestions or if you wish to know anything else. If you wish to submit books, please send us an email for the address. 

You do not have to complete a submissions form, but please make sure we have a contact email.

Thank you